Why and How I Joined Toastmasters

The reason & the events that led to me joining toastmasters is quite interesting.

From early days,I have a great interest towards public speaking & Soft skills as during my school and college days,I had this fear towards public speaking.So I did read lot of softskill & public speaking related books.As time went on,both become almost my field of interest.

Then when I started to make youtube videos,I watched those videos.Somewhat whatever I spoke in those videos felt.
I was not happy with the way I delivered the video.I watched the videos made by others basically public speaker,their videos were impressive with the way they delivered,the rate of speech and they were great but my mine was bit not impressive for an audience.

So I thought that I should go to a public speaking course to make a better videos.Already I went for a public speaking course long back and had no much improvement.Then I heard about toastmasters and made a thorough research about toastmasters.

Toastmasters is a club in which members meet every week to give speeches in a self paced manner in a conducive and supportive environment which helps in improving their public speaking skills.First I went to a club where it was too crowded and I got lost in the crowd.I was not impressed and left the meeting in the middle.

Then I went to another club where the members greeted me well and they also gave a impromptu topic to speak.It has really impressed.Still I did not join because it was on a sunday.Already I have a 6 day job,then working on a sunday it will become a 7 day job life spoiling my work-life balance.

But in life you get signs and you need to identify the signs.In a 6 month period,I crossed paths about toastmasters
1)A Member from Mcdermott club said great about toastmasters
2)Met one of the member of the club which I visited in one of my client place.
3)I Greatly admire Rich dad Poor dad book and in his book,he has mentioned about toastmasters & it helps to improve your skill to speak in Public.

Finally I made that decision to dive into toastmasters into blind faith.I must say that it was a great decision and it was like a turning point in our life.It has given a rebirth to me.It has helped me to speak in public and also improve my leadership.More to explore in toastmasters & endless opportunities for a toastmaster.I got recognized in toastmasters at many levels and finally helped to make youtube videos in a better way.

Leave a Reply

